Gallery of Surrealism   home   |  artists   |  artworks   |  bookstore   |  features   |  guestbook   |  about us  

 Kay Sage   (1898-1963)

  Kay Sage: The Biographical Chronology and Four Surrealist One-Act Plays
  • 112 pages
  • 20 b/w illustrations
  • book size 9½" x 7¼" (24.1 x 18.4 cm.)
  • published 2011, Gallery of Surrealism, NY
  • hardbound with illustrated boards
  • author Stephen Robeson Miller
  • text in English
  • limited edition of 1000 copies each hand signed and numbered by the author
  • includes Kay Sage's four original surrealist one act plays:
    Château de Chémillieu, 1939
    Cote d'Azur, 1956
    Failure to Discover, 1956
    Jean Dibidou, 1960
  • ISBN-13: 9781936486038  |  ISBN-10: 1936486032
  • Condition: brand new
Stephen Robeson Miller, the acknowledged expert on Kay Sage and highly respected curator, author, and independent scholar, has released his long anticipated and meticulously researched chronology of her life to coincide with his exhibition, Double Solitaire: The Surreal Worlds of Kay Sage and Yves Tanguy, at the Katonah Museum of Art and further venues.  Since 1983, a part of the The Stephen Robeson Miller Research Papers about Kay Sage, on microfilm at the Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C., and revised and supplemented with recently discovered revelations, this biographical chronology contains a wealth of previously unknown and unpublished information. Limited to 1000 hand signed and numbered copies, it is further enhanced by the inclusion of Sage's four surrealist one-act plays, three of which have never been published.

This elegant and poetic volume contains recollections, impressions, and anecdotes by family, associates, and fellow Surrealists including Nicolas Calas, Alexander Calder, Jean Dubuffet, Aube Breton Elleouet, Charles Henri Ford, Peggy Guggenheim, David Hare, Jean Hélion, Marcel Jean, Jacqueline Lamba, Julien Levy, Pierre Matisse, Roberto Matta-Echaurren, Anais Nin, Gordon Onslow-Ford, Roland Penrose, Hans Richter, Dorothea Tanning, among so many others from letters, interviews and research conducted by the author.
Kay Sage: The Biographical Chronology and Four Surrealist One-Act Plays - 2011 Limited Edition Hardbound Book by Stephen Robeson Miller

Gallery of Surrealism
160 Bleecker Street, #10ME,
New York, NY 10012
tel 212.227.9322
Copyright © Gallery of Surrealism.  All rights reserved.  All images copyright of the artist.
All text, descriptions, and images on this site are copyrighted and may not be reproduced
or distributed in any way without express written permission.  The availability and price of
all items illustrated and/or listed on this site are subject to change without notice.